Sorrow by K.J.Koukas

Background to the poem:

A year ago today, I received sad news from my mother. She told me that my father’s uncle, my beloved great-uncle Mixalis died. He was 94 years old. He lived a good life and he was the loveliest man I knew from my father’s family. Little did we know that great-uncle Mixalis was not the only one we were going to lose that month. It was a strange time and I have to say one of the saddest moment/month of our life. On Christmas day, last year, we lost our dear dear friend Abu. He was one of mum’s oldest friends and best friend to both my parents. My sister and I knew Abu all our lives and saw him as part of our family. We all loved him very dearly. He was diagnosed with cancer a few years ago and finally the deadly poison took him from us. We did know it was going to come some day, but we did not expect Christmas Day. Then a third death. My mum’s uncle, my great-uncle Dan died in January. He was my pen pal. We started writing proper letters to each other years ago. I still have all those letters and I will treasure them forever. When the news of great-uncle Dan reached me, I just broke down. To me and my sister it felt like we lost so many family members in the space of a month. My grandmother always told us that everything comes in threes and in this particular incident she was right. I was so sad during that month , I sat down and just wrote this poem. 

Sorrow-  K.J.Koukas — January 2015

The moment that you died
my heart was torn in two
one part filled with heartache
the other died with you.

I often lie awake at night
when the world is fast asleep
and down memory lane I leap
with tears upon my cheek.

Remembering you is easy
I do it every day
but missing you is heartache
that never goes away.

I hold you tightly in my heart
and there you will remain
until the joyous day arrives
that we will meet again.

Leave a Reply

